We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

New Leader for Bedford Borough Lib Dems

May 9, 2008 3:49 PM

Cllr Dave Hodgson is the new leader of Bedford Borough Liberal Democrat Group. He succeeds Cllr Michael Headley, who led the group for nine years. Cllr Headley remains the group's Scrutiny Spokesman, as part of a formidable team of spokespersons revealed by the Lib Dems today.

Commenting, new Bedford Borough Liberal Democrat Group Leader Cllr Dave Hodgson said:

"The Liberal Democrat Group enters this vital year for the Borough Council with an extremely strong team. We are ready to take on the challenges that lie ahead.'

"This is a very exciting time for the Liberal Democrat Group on Bedford Borough Council. After nine successful years with Michael Headley as leader, the group will continue to progress under my leadership. As the second largest group on the council we will play a key role in the preparations for the new unitary authority. We will work tirelessly to ensure that the unitary council will deliver improved services and better value for money for the local taxpayer. We are prepared to work with anyone who shares our commitment to achieving this from the Borough or County Council."

The new Bedford Borough Liberal Democrat Group Leadership Team:

Group Leader Cllr Dave Hodgson

Deputy Group Leader Cllr David Sawyer

Bedford Borough Liberal Democrat Group Spokespersons:

Implementation Executive: Cllr Dave Hodgson

Scrutiny Committee Cllr Michael Headley

Environment Committee: Cllr Paul Whitehead

Community and Culture Committee: Cllr Charles Royden

Corporate and Resource Committee: Cllr Nick Charsley

Planning: Cllr Anita Gerard

Licensing: Cllr Myrtle Stewardson

Audit Committee: Cllr David Sawyer

General Purposes Committee: Cllr Tim Hill